The Plastic Surgery Foundation
Log In Donate Now

Bernard G. Sarnat, MD, Excellence in Grant Writing Award

The Bernard G. Sarnat, MD, Excellence in Grant Writing Awards recognize investigators for their excellence in research grant writing for projects submitted to The Plastic Surgery Foundation's grant program.

This award honors the contributions of the late Dr. Bernard G. Sarnat, a pioneer in plastic surgery and founding member of the Plastic Surgery Research Council. Dr. Sarnat studied and made notable contributions to craniofacial development and the biological circumstances that led to deformities of facial structures, especially as they affect surgical procedures. Dr. Sarnat was the author and co-author of more than 220 scientific journal papers and books, and lectured extensively at universities and professional societies throughout the United States and the world.

Latest Award Recipients

Kellen Chen, PhD

Stanford University
Basic Science Research
Translational and Innovation Research Grant
Project Title: Improving Cosmetics and Function of Skin Grafting by Blocking Mechanotransduction

Meera Reghunathan, MD

University of California, San Diego - Health Sciences
Clinical Research
PSF Diversity and Inclusion Grant
Project Title: Plastic Surgery Research, Education and Preparation Promoting Equity & Diversity

Past Award Recipients

  • 2021: Kellen Chen, PhD (Basic)
  • 2021: Meera Reghunathan, MD (Clinical)
  • 2020: Paige Fox, MD, PhD (Basic)
  • 2020: Katherine Gast, MD (Clinical)
  • 2019: Daniel Ursu, PhD (Basic)
  • 2019: Michael DeLong, MD (Clinical)
  • 2018: Carrie Kubiak, MD (Basic)
  • 2018: Anne Klassen, PhD (Clinical)
  • 2017: Alison Snyder-Warwick, MD (Basic)
  • 2017: Terence Myckatyn, MD (Clinical)
  • 2016: Benjamin Levi, MD (Basic)
  • 2016: Katie Weichman, MD (Clinical)
  • 2015: Amy M. Moore, MD (Basic)
  • 2015: Christopher Pannucci, MD, MS, FAWM (Clinical)
  • 2014: Amy Moore, MD (Basic)
  • 2014: Erika Sears, MD (Clinical)
  • 2013: Reid A. Maclellan, MD, MMSc (Basic)
  • 2013: Nijaguna Prasad, PhD (Clinical)
  • 2012: Theodore A. Kung, MD (Basic)
  • 2012: Bing Siang Gan, MD, PhD, FRCSC, FACS (Clinical)