The Plastic Surgery Foundation
Log In Donate Now

Outstanding Achievement Awards

The PSF Outstanding Achievement Award acknowledges an investigator's contributions in clinical, as well as basic and translational research.

The Basic and Translational Research Award honors those whose novel work will evolve the treatment of surgical disorders and the practice of plastic surgery in general. Such work may incorporate biomedical research, as well as basic and translational studies.

The Clinical Research Award recognizes an investigator whose innovative research will advance the treatment of surgical disorders. Such work may involve clinical, epidemiological, or health services research.

Nominations for the award may be submitted by any member of ASPS, but candidates may not nominate themselves. Nominations are not considered fully submitted until the nominators receive a confirmation via e-mail from The PSF.

Nomination materials must include:

  • Letter of recommendation – describes the candidate's achievements in clinical plastic surgery research
  • Candidate's CV – including a complete list of the candidate's publications
  • Summary statement – summarizes the candidate's research accomplishments; includes references to the publications supporting these accomplishments

Candidates will be considered on the basis of:

  • Clinical research contributions to the advancement of the specialty
  • Overall impact of these contributions on the plastic surgery field
  • Demonstration of a commitment to the advancement of medicine through clinical research

To make a nomination, submit all materials in PDF format to

Latest Award Recipients

Amy K. Alderman, MD, MPH, FACS

Amy K. Alderman, MD, MPH, has been in practice for 10 years, initially at the University of Michigan and now and in private practice in Atlanta.

Dr. Alderman was valedictorian of her medical school class at the University of Alabama and was chief of her residency class at the University of Michigan. During her residency, she received formal training in health services research (RWJ Clinical Scholars Program) and obtained her MPH degree.

She started her career on the teaching faculty at the University of Michigan where she was promoted to a tenured associate professor of plastic surgery. She received a career development award from the RWJ Foundation and external support from the NIH and The PSF to evaluate health disparities and surgical outcomes in the breast cancer population. She has over 70 peer-reviewed publications, 10 book chapters and more than 100 scientific presentations.

Currently, she is the ASPS board member for the National Accreditation Program for Breast Centers, surgical editor of the Cochrane Breast Cancer Group, president of the University of Michigan's plastic surgery alumni association, treasure of the Georgia Society of Plastic Surgeons, and a board examiner for the ABPS.

Past Award Recipients

  • 2013: I. Kelman Cohen, MD
  • 2013: Susan Mackinnon, MD, FRCS (C), FACS
  • 2012: Louis C. Argenta, MD
  • 2012: Fu-Chan Wei, MD
  • 2011: Geoffrey C. Gurtner, MD
  • 2011: Henry Kawamoto, Jr., MD, DDS
  • 2010: Maria Siemionow, MD, PhD, DSc
  • 2010: Julia K. Terzis, MD, PhD, FRCS (C), FACS
  • 2009: Joseph G. McCarthy, MD
  • 2009: Cho Y. Pang, PhD
  • 2008: Joseph E. Murray, MD
  • 2008: J. Peter Rubin, MD
  • 2007: Andrea Pusic, MD